Cyber Charter Schools

In my last post, I talked about homeschooling and my different thoughts on my education options for my kids. One of the comments I received on that post struck me as particularly interesting. It was from Michael Barbour. You can see his comment here. He wondered if I had heard about cyber charter school options. I hadn’t. But it seemed really cool. So I thought I’d check it out.

After doing a lot of research, I came to the realization that I don’t want my children stuck in front of a computer screen all day. This is the whole reason I decided homeschooling was the greatest option for us. I wanted to have a real hand in my children’s learning. I wanted to pick lesson plans, create projects, and be their main educator. I wanted them to be able to incorporate the Catholic faith in their daily activities and have as much hands-on experiences as their little bodies could get.

While cyber charter schools seem like a great option for some, it’s not quite the option I’m looking for. The great things that cyber charter schooling offers are the flexibility and one-on-one help from the parent. It also offers children the option to learn at their own pace, outside of the classroom. This could be great for kids who are quick learners, or who need a little extra time.  Cyber schooling seems like it would be a perfect option for those who are in a poor school district as well.

Although this isn’t quite the path I think God is leading me towards, I will definitely keep it in mind. Who know, maybe it ends up being valuable to us in the future!

2 thoughts on “Cyber Charter Schools

  1. Emily, I’m not sure how old your children are, but depending on their age they may not be in front of a computer all of the time. In fact the younger the student, the less time they do spend online. A good starting point might be http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8woVgj6Ao8

    Now I don’t have any children, but if I did and decided upon this option there are some companies that I would avoid personally.

  2. Thanks for the great resource! I think the best part about homeschooling is that I can come up with or collaborate on particular curriculum ideas, find the resources and filter the information my children are exposed to. Also, one of the perks about homeschooling is not having to sit in class for 6-8 hours a day. So much of school is spent explaining information to children who do not understand or disciplining. I hope to cut out some of this by homeschooling. I think cyber charter school could be a great resource; it’s just not for me! 🙂

Comments are closed.