Education Links

As you may have read in other posts on this blog, I plan to homeschool my children one day. I do not have children yet, but I have already spent many years researching schools, private and public. After not being impressed my our local schools, I decided to look into homeschooling. I was really pleased to find out that homeschooling is actually a lot more common now days. My husband was homeschooled until high school and then he went to a private Catholic high school. I spent my elementary school years in a Catholic school, middle school years in a public middle school, and then I went back to private education at a Catholic high school. So between the two of us, we’ve covered it all. I truly believe that the education I got at my private schools immensely surpassed the education I got at my middle school. However, with that being said, I had some unbelievable teachers there who truly cared about the students and held us to a high standard. It just didn’t meet my expectations coming from the private elementary school I attended. I have been blessed to enough to have the opportunity to be able to stay at home with my future kids, and I fully intend to do so. I am passionate about learning and children, so this is my current goal.

Did I mention I was passionate about children? There’s a place in my heart that swells every time I think about child development and all those children who haven’t been so fortunate. I plan to adopt one day and I know it won’t be an easy journey. I follow many blogs that talk about their journey with adoption. They are both inspiring and heartbreaking. It takes a special family to adopt and go through the roller coaster of emotions and trials and tribulations that come along with it. Our world is a much better place because of these types of people.

Below you will find the links to blogs about homeschooling and adoption:

Confessions of a Homeschooler – Erica shares her Christian curriculum, day-to-day activities, crafts, and other resources for a successful homeschool

Raising and Teaching Little Saints – Erika gives a Catholic approach to homeschooling with curriculum, activities, and printables

Flower Patch Farmgirl – Shannan is an incredibly inspiring blogger who talks about all things crafty and all things spiritual, as well as her adoption journey with 3 adopted kids.

The Lettered Cottage – Layla shares a ton of crafty DIY that her and her husband do around their home. She is also starting her adoption journey and talks about this process as well as their faith.

9 thoughts on “Education Links

  1. Emily, does the same that you live in have full-time, cyber charter schooling? As I often describe that as glorified homeschooling with access to a curriculum and a tutor, it may be something worth exploring.

  2. Emily, my cousin is Catholic and she homeschools her 6 children. If she had a blog, I would totally give you the link. However, I think she is too busy to think of blogging. She is in love with the curriculum she uses which is Catholic. I can get you the information if you are interested. Good luck with this! Homeschooling puts my head into a dizzy!
    Nice job!
    Jaime Piatt

  3. Hi Emily, I contacted my cousin. She uses CHC- Catholic Heritage Curricula which can be found at catholichomeschooling.com I hope this helps!
    Jaime Piatt

  4. Emily,

    Let me begin by saying that I believe that the academic benefits of homeschooling can far surpass those of public and sometimes even private schools. I one hang-up with home schooling is the social aspect of child development. I am a big fan of Erik Erikson’s psycho-social development and I think that in some circumstances it is easier for people to catch up on academic development if they go through a rough year or two of teachers, but it is very difficult to help children get caught up socially. I know that anecdotal data is suspect, but I have come in contact with individuals throughout my life, most recently on a deployment to Iraq, who were home schooled and they really struggled to play well with others. I did not know they were homeschooled until the end of our deployment, but we were in an environment where cooperation with others was key. Both of them were extremely intelligent individuals, but they had a real hard time compromising and if they did not like somebody, they just avoided them altogether.

    I know that public education has its flaws, so if you are concerned about their academics, look at a private or charter, but for their social well being I would leave them in the presence of other students.

    I’ll end by saying that I know that not all home schooled children struggle socially and I know that there are products of public schools who still struggle socially, but our children will be a part of a society as adults and they need social intelligence and experience to learn.

    Jeremy

    • Hi Jeremy! Being a veteran myself, I completely understand where you’re coming from. I, too, have had the privilege of working with people who have taken all walks of life. I think so much of the socialization aspect of homeschooling depends on the parents. If the parents are involved in the community, have a great group of friends, are involved in sports, know how to conduct themselves with others, and are well-rounded, the children have a higher chance of being well socialized. This is always the largest concern when people hear the word “homeschool,” but I believe that it is very possible to raise productive members of society in a homeschooling environment.

      • Emily,

        You make some great points. Conscious effort on the part of parents in needed for all children and if homeschooled children are provided with socializing opportunities they can have the best of both worlds. I am sure there are plenty of good and bad examples of socialization via public school and homeschool.

        What branch of the military are or were you in? I am in with the ARNG. I spent 2005 and 2010 in Iraq. Please forgive me if we have already talked about this. This summer has been crazy, I spent the first two weeks of this semester at an AT exercise and I will be spending the last two weeks of this semester at an Officer Education School. It has all been a bit of blur.

        Jeremy

Comments are closed.