RSS for Education

English: This icon, known as the "feed ic...

RSS stands for Really Simple Syndication. It is a software that allows a user to subscribe to blogs using a feed reader. It is basically the user’s own, personalized magazine. New entries from subscribed blogs get added to the reader automatically and can be scanned at any time. Instead of going to multiple favorite websites, all new entries are posted in the same place. This is extremely convenient and totally efficient.

I have created a bundle of RSS feeds that I found educational and applicable to my teaching endeavors. Unlike many of the EdTech students, I am currently not a teacher, professor, educator, etc. However, I fully intend to use this degree to secure a teaching position when I graduate. That being said I have two avenues that I am currently setting myself up for: homeschooling and teaching college psychology online.

1)Homeschooling: RSS feeds would be exceptionally helpful in homeschooling. I could set up a feed reader for my children for subscriptions to blogs on other homeschooling communities, topics of study such as theology, science, social studies, etc., current events, and other educational resources. Not only could it help me, as the educator, to keep my ideas and resources all in one location, it could help my “students” to gain knowledge from outside resources that I deem appropriate. It would also allow them to be more involved in their learning process by getting ideas for projects that they would like to create or subjects that they would like to spend more time learning about.

2)Psychology professor: There are so many resources out there from psychology communities and ideas for curriculum on teaching this subject. RSS subscriptions to blogs for this information and new ideas in this subject is crucial to creating a learning environment for every type of learner. Not only does it benefit me as the educator to have access to new curriculum and information all in one spot, it is extremely beneficial for the student. Creating an RSS feed for my students is a great resource for them. Not only could they gain knowledge from other students’ blogs, but they could get information from scholarly resources that I find pertinent to their psychology education.

This assignment uses AECT standard 4.4 “Information Management” because it involves planning, monitoring, and controlling the processing of information to facilitate learning. Creating an RSS bundle and applying it to our classroom education enhances our quality of teaching and benefits the learners that we are in contact with.

